Tax Assessor-Collector

Quick links

Print Request email notification when page changesEmail Notify

Registration Fees, Tax Rates, and Penalties

Vehicle Registration Sticker The registration fee is comprised of the base registration fee for your vehicle type and $1 for the maintenance and operations of the Insurance Verification Project (TexasSure). 100 percent of your base registration fee goes directly to the State Highway Fund for the construction and maintenance of the state’s transportation system.

For more information, please see our current registration fee chart.

Vehicle Registration Fees

DescriptionAnnual Registration Fee
Passenger cars and light trucks (6,000 pounds or less)  $75.50
* These fees include county & state fees
** If you choose to renew by mail, there is an additional mail fee of $1.00.

Weight Classification Registration Fees

Manufacturer's Carrying CapacityTruck
6,001 - 10,000 lbs.  $78.75
10,001 - 18,000 lbs.   $134.75
* These fees include county & state fees
** If you choose to renew by mail, there is an additional mail fee of $1.00.
*** Trucks are measured by weight.  The rates may vary according to the weight.  Click on the Registration Fee Table to see all new registration fee information.

Motorcycle fee:     $30.00 + $13.25 state fee + $11.50 local fee = $54.75


Computation of Motor Vehicle Sales Tax

  1. Sales Tax is 6 1/4% of the sales price or 80% of the SPV (Standard Presumptive Value)  , whichever is greater
  2. The price you paid or consideration given for the vehicle
  3. Amount of tax paid to another STATE (local taxes included are not considered for credit purposes) (include a copy of your PAID Tax Receipt IN YOUR NAME for this amount)
  4. The Amount you owe is the difference between the amount in #4 and the amount of STATE ONLY tax previously paid in another state.  If this figure is -0- (ZERO) or less you owe no tax
  5. The agreed value of the trade in vehicle (if any)
  6. Taxable value equals Purchase Price less any Trade In

If this vehicle was a gift, the GIFT TAX is $10.00.  An affidavit of Motor Vehicle Gift Transfer (Comptroller form 14-317)  must be signed and notarized.  One of the parties must appear in person. 

If you traded even, one vehicle for another and NO MONEY OR OTHER CONSIDERATION was exchanged, your EVEN TRADE TAX is $5.00. We will need the vehicle information (VIN #, year, and make) of vehicles traded from both seller & buyer.

FeeYour Total Fees
Title Fee $28.00
Registration Fee As determined Above
Motor Vehicle Sales Tax As determined Above

Self Certification of Vehicle Identification Number

Any corrections, alterations, white outs, or strike through to this document will render it void.

All Out of State Vehicle Registrations or Title Transfers:

Please include CURRENT (in force as of the date we process the transaction) proof of financial responsibility for your vehicle for every transaction you submit to our office.  You may send a copy of your proof of insurance or other document (such as the Declarations Page of a standard motor vehicle insurance policy).  (A receipt for premium paid, by itself, does not furnish the necessary information to confirm that insurance is in effect).  We will return all paperwork that lacks the required proof that you meet Texas Safety Responsibility Act.  Please refer to our Motor Vehicle Section of this web page for detailed information regarding required coverage.

Penalties

The purchaser of a vehicle must file an application for transfer of title & registration within 30 days in order to avoid penalties. A vehicle inspection report is also needed prior to office visit, done within 90 days of titling and/or registration. If done by mail and vehicle is not in Texas, we will need a statement that the vehicle is currently out of state signed by registered owner.

Penalties are as follows:

  • INDIVIDUAL TO INDIVIDUAL TRANSFERS (Effective January 2, 2008)
    • $25 late transfer penalty is assessed if the purchaser fails to apply for title within 30 days of purchase
    • ADD another $25 penalty - for each additional 30-day(or part of 30-day period) when transferred on or after the 31st work day after the date of sale, not to exceed $250.00.
  • MILITARY PERSONNEL TRANSFERS - Must file transfers within 60 days after the date of sale. Penalties are not to exceed $250.00

Some Exemptions are as follows:

NO PENALTIES - The following types of vehicles are exempt from late transfer penalties:

  • 25 or more year old passenger cars, light trucks,motorcycles or travel trailers
  • Vehicles purchased by a state or federal government agency
  • Off highway motorcycles and All-Terrain Vehicles (ATV)
  • Non-titled trailers

The State of Texas imposes a motor vehicle sales and use tax of 6.25% of the purchase price on new vehicles and 80% of the Standard Presumptive Value (non dealer sales) of used vehicles.  New Texas residents pay a flat $90.00 tax on each vehicle, whether leased or owned when they establish a Texas residence.  The only requirement for this tax to apply is that the vehicle must have been registered in the name of the owner in another state.  The cost of a new title is $28.00.  If the vehicle is currently registered there is a $2.50 charge to transfer the registration to the new owner.  If the vehicle is not currently registered, this must be done when the title is transferred.  (Once a registration month is established in our records for a vehicle it normally does not change).

Title to your vehicle may be issued under certain circumstances without any requirement to register the vehicle.  If you want to title your vehicle without registering it you must surrender any license plates and windshield sticker displayed on the vehicle.
* 30-day temp tag can be issued on a Title Only