Filing for Divorce
The most important task at the beginning of a divorce is to do research. The information contained on this website is meant to work in conjunction with other sources of more detailed information. It is assumed that the reader has a basic knowledge of divorce terms, forms, and the overall process. The following are potential sources of Pro Se divorce information:
- Internet Sites (www.texasbar.com , www.texaslawhelp.org and www.tyla.org)
- Bell County Justice Complex Law Library (click here for directions)
- Public Library (Law or Legal Section)
In order to get a divorce in Bell County, Texas you must meet the minimum residency requirements.
- Resident of Texas for a minimum of 6 months (either spouse); and
- Resident of Bell County for a minimum of 3 months (either spouse)
These timeframes are in relation to the date you file for divorce (not when the divorce is final). The State of Texas requires a 60 day waiting period from the date the divorce is filed before the case can be heard in court.
|An interesting fact is that most pro se filings are completed far beyond 60 day waiting period. The average time frame for a pro se divorce is 218 days.|