Alcoholic Beverage Tax & License
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission requires alcoholic beverage manufacturers, distributors, retailers, etc. to apply for licenses and permits before they may operate in the State of Texas. The TABC provides information regarding licenses/permits to the public; go to http://www.tabc.texas.gov/
New Liquor or Beer License/Permit
In Bell County, NEW alcoholic beverage license/permit application processing is available at the following location ONLY:
TABC - Belton Outpost
550 E. 2nd Avenue
P.O. Box 305
Belton, Tx 76513
Phone: (254) 933-5380Fax: (254) 933-5369
Hours of Operation vary each week. It is best to call to check for the time. Tentative weekly hours are:
Monday -- Friday 8:00 a.m.- 12:00 p.m. & 1:00 p.m.- 5:00 p.m.
If there are any questions during the times that the office is closed, please contact the Waco TABC office at 254-776-7626.
Renewal for Liquor License/Permit
The State of Texas mails a renewal statement to the licensee annually. These fees are to be sent directly to the TABC in the form of a cashier's check , Company Check or Business Check made payable to the Comptroller of Public Accounts at the following address:
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission
P. O. Box 13127
Austin, Texas 78711-3127
Payment may also be made online or in person at any TABC Office.
A description and an amount of the State Renewal and Local fees appears in this document: tabc-sept-2021-maximum-local-fees.pdf.
In addition to the above fees paid directly to the TABC, Section 11.38 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code provides, in part, the Bell County Commissioners Court (all counties) may levy and collect a fee not to exceed one-half of the state fee for certain alcoholic beverage permits issued for premises in Bell County. These fees can be paid through the mail or in person with a money order, cashier's check, or personal check. TEMPORARY CHECKS will not be accepted. Payment may be made to:
Bell County Tax Assessor-Collector
550 E. 2nd Avenue
Belton, Texas 76513
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission or Administrator may cancel a permit if it finds that the permittee has not paid a fee levied under this section. A permittee who sells an alcoholic beverage without first having paid a fee levied under this section commits a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $10 nor more than $200.00.
Renewal for Beer License/Permit
Section 61.36 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code provides, in part, that the Bell County Commissioners Court (all counties) may levy and collect a fee equal to one-half the state fee for each license, except a temporary or agent's beer license, issued for premises located within Bell County. These fees can be paid through the mail or in person with a money order, cashier's check or business check (Temporary Checks will not be accepted). Payment may be made to:
Bell County Tax Assessor Collector
550 E 2nd Ave
P O Box 669
Belton, TX 76513
Effective February 1, 2014 an application to renew a license shall be filed with the commission no earlier than 30 days before the license expires but not after it expires. The application shall be signed by the applicant and shall contain complete information required by the commission showing that the applicant is not disqualified from holding a license. The application shall be accompanied by the appropriate license fee. No applicant is required by the commission or administrator to submit to a renewal hearing before the county judge.
Effective February 1, 2014 counties will no longer be accepting payment for TABC on renewals or original applications due to the legislative change passed by the 83rd Legislature (SB1035).
Surcharges on beer permits are subject to change each year, depending on the anticipated number of licenses/permits issued versus the T.A.B.C.'s appropriation. The Commission determines the amount of the surcharge each summer and the Licensing Department notifies this office each year of the changes by supplying a new surcharge table.The Alcoholic Beverage Commission of Administrator may cancel a license if it finds the licensee has not paid a fee levied under this section. A licensee who sells an alcoholic beverage without first having paid a fee levied under this section commits a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than $10 nor more than $200.